Winter 2005 Online Publication    

Issue Due Date
Winter 12/01
Spring 04/15
Summer 06/30

Submit articles to
Message from the Chair
Submitted by:  Sandy Brown, DEDCMD ASFAA Chair

Sandy BrownGreetings Tristate Members!

Having just returned from the EASFAA Council meeting in Philadelphia, I wanted to share some things with you from that meeting. At this meeting, Dave Gelinas, NASFAA’s National Chair Elect shared with us a NASFAA update. NASFAA continues to find ways to meet the needs of its member associations. One of the great things about these meetings is to learn what all the other states are doing about outreach, conferences, training, federal relations and much more. It is a wonderful opportunity to gain insight and get ideas on how to bring more to our association. It is my goal to make sure that Tristate benefits from our involvement with our Regional Association.

Tristate is well represented on EASFAA Council. Our three state presidents hold voting positions on the Council. Dave Manning serves as the EASFAA Newsletter Chair and Barbara Miller and I co-chair the Leadership Development Committee. This is the second year that Barb and I have chaired this committee. The EASFAA Leadership Development Committee coordinates a Mentor Scholarship Program. Each state association identifies a potential “leader” and nominates that individual for the EASFAA Mentor Scholarship Award. This award covers expenses for the EASFAA Conference. This is just one way Tristate can help nurture a new leader from our association as well.

It is through this role in EASFAA that we have determined a need for leadership development in Tristate. As you may know, there is a mentoring and leadership subcommittee of our own Professional Development and Training Committee. I urge everyone to consider getting involved in some way. Association work is both personally and professionally rewarding.

I wish everyone a very happy and healthy new year.

Warm regards,

DE-DC-MD ASFAA Executive Board 2004-05
Chair Sandy Brown EDFUND
Chair Elect/Finance Committee Rich Heath Anne Arundel Community College
Past Chair/Nominations and Elections Bob Foultz Suntrust
Vice Chair/Conference Chair Ingrid Valentine American University
Secretary Elizabeth Urbanski MHEC
Treasurer David Manning National Education
Delaware President Chris Koterba AES
District of Columbia President Brian Lee Sang American University
Maryland President Rachel Brinkley Educaid/Wachovia
Awards and Scholarships Sharon Hassan Goucher College
Development Susan Stitely Frederick Community College
Electronic Services Patricia Rhodes Towson University
Federal Relations Sarah Bauder University of Maryland
Beth McSweeney University of Maryland – Baltimore
Historian Jacqui Daughtry-Miller Independence Federal Savings
Long Range Planning Janet Walker Medix School
Membership Laura Gagnon Mount St. Mary’s College
Newsletter Melissa Gregory Montgomery College
Organization and Governance Molly Burdusi University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Professional Development & Training Melvina Johnson National Education
Lynn Lee Harford Community College
Community Service Pat Shoemaker Anne Arundel Community College
College Goal Sunday Cissy Van Sickle Bank of America

Committee Highlights:
Awards & Scholarships I