Fall 2004 Online Publication    

Issue Due Date
Winter 12/01
Spring 04/15
Summer 06/30

Submit articles to
Message from the Chair
Submitted by:  Sandy Brown, DEDCMD ASFAA Chair

Sandy BrownGreetings Tristate Members!

Fall is here – with that we have the FISAP, Halloween and of course, our annual conference. This year marks Tristate’s 35th Anniversary. Our conference committee is busy planning a full agenda and festive events to celebrate this occasion. I hope everyone is taking advantage of our $5 membership this year!

The Executive Board has been busy as well. We kicked off the year with our planning retreat in June. We agreed to focus on the future and started planning more training events, community service outreach projects -- all with a focus on the needs of the membership. We have also had our share of challenges. We appointed two new state presidents to the board. Chris Koterba is serving as the Delaware State President and Brian Lee Sang stepped up to serve as DC State President. There will be several openings on the board next year and I know Bob Foultz is busy looking to fill the nomination ballot. I encourage those of you who are currently serving to step up and run for office. For those of you not yet involved, I hope you will consider joining a committee or volunteering in some way. We also welcome Lynn Lee as the co-chair of the Professional Development and Training Committee. Lynn and Melvina, along with the entire PD&T Committee, are working to deliver high quality training and workshops throughout the year.

If you haven’t visited the website lately, I encourage you to do so. Pat Rhodes has worked diligently to ensure a smooth transition for all updates and access to important information. Please be sure to take advantage of this resource!

All of our committees are working to find ways to better serve our association. If you have any suggestions, ideas, or would like join a committee, please feel free to contact the committee chairs directly.

As you may know, Tristate is well represented on the EASFAA Council. All three of our state presidents have voting positions on the board. Dave Manning is EASFAA’s newsletter chair, and Barbara Miller and I co-chair EASFAA’s Leadership Development Committee. EASFAA Sponsors the NASFAA training materials and we are delighted to host an EASFAA training this year.

I hope to see many new and familiar faces at our Conference at the Carousel Resort in November. As always, I am always open to suggestions and encourage all be an active part of this great Association!

DE-DC-MD ASFAA Executive Board 2004-05
Chair Sandy Brown EDFUND
Chair Elect/Finance Committee Rich Heath Anne Arundel Community College
Past Chair/Nominations and Elections Bob Foultz Suntrust
Vice Chair/Conference Chair Ingrid Valentine American University
Secretary Elizabeth Urbanski MHEC
Treasurer David Manning National Education
Delaware President Chris Koterba AES
District of Columbia President Brian Lee Sang American University
Maryland President Rachel Brinkley Educaid/Wachovia
Awards and Scholarships Sharon Hassan Goucher College
Development Susan Stitely Frederick Community College
Federal Relations Sarah Bauder University of Maryland
Beth McSweeney University of Maryland – Baltimore
Historian Jacqui Daughtry-Miller Independence Federal Savings
Long Range Planning Janet Walker Medix School
Membership Laura Gagnon Mount St. Mary’s College
Newsletter Melissa Gregory Montgomery College
Organization and Governance Molly Burdusi University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Professional Development & Training Melvina Johnson National Education
Lynn Lee Harford Community College
Community Service Pat Shoemaker Anne Arundel Community College
College Goal Sunday Cissy Van Sickle Bank of America

Delaware Dialogue