Awards & Scholarship Index

return to Leadership List
Meeting Minutes Index

The Awards and Scholarship Committee handles all the details around soliciting nominations for awards and scholarships, selecting recipients, and notifying those awarded.

James B Roye, Chair
Associate Director
University of Maryland - University College
1616 McCormick Dr
Upper Marlboro, MD 20774
Phone: (240) 684-2761   Ext: 22761
Fax: (301) 985-7462

Committee Members:
Patricia E. Lopez - Montgomery College

Committee Activities for Awards and Scholarship Committee
Volunteer of the Year
Volunteer of the Year nominated by the Membership Committee and the Executive Board. 2002 first year of award.

2002-2003 Volunteer of the Year - David Manning

New Member of the Year
New Member of the Year nominated by Professional Development and Training Committee and Executive Board. 2002 first year of award.

2002-2003 New Member of the Year - Pat Shoemaker

Committee of the Year
Selected by the Chair, Past-Chair and Chair-elect. 2001 first year of award.

2002-2003 Committee of the Year - Development Committee

Marilyn Brown Professional Excellence Award
The DE-DC-MD ASFAA Executive Board created the Marilyn Brown Professional Excellence Award in 1990 to honor the memory and life work of a dedicated financial aid administrator. Over a twenty-year career, Marilyn Brown could maintain equilibrium between the constant challenges of her profession and the needs of her students. Because of her expertise, students who would have fallen out of the system received financial aid that enabled them to complete their education. The recipients of this award demonstrate these qualities of professionalism and sensitivity. Recipients must show an exceptional contribution to students, school or the association; show professional ethics of the highest caliber; and with at least five years in the financial aid profession, show dedication to serving students in adverse situations. In the spirit of rewarding unrecognized excellence, the recipient need not be a member of the association.

The 2001-02 recipient of this award was Elaine Sweeney from CCBC-Dundalk.

The Service Award
In 1978, the Executive Board created the Service Award to recognize the achievements of members whose active participation on committees or other organization activities had contributed to the betterment of the association. An Executive Board member or a Committee Chairperson makes nominations for the Service Award. This recipient has served the association in one or more of the following ways: (1) increasing membership participation, (2) enhancing the image of the associatin in the wider community, (3) promoting professional development of the membership.

2001-02 recipient was Margaret Bowler from CCBC-Catonsville.

Lifetime Membership Award
The Lifetime Membership award honors a longtime active member of the association for extraordinary service. Any association member may submit a nomination to the Awards Committee. After review, the Awards Committee submits the nomination to the Executive Board for approval. The winner of this award receives a plaque and lifetime membership to the association.

In 1992, the Executive Board established a scholarship for students attending an eligible institution in Delaware, the District of Columbia and Maryland. We make a $1,000 award to a student from each area. Financial aid directors nominate students on a need and merit basis, and the Awards Committee reviews the application. The scholarship recipients are announced at the spring meeting. Twelve scholarships were awarded for the 2001 - 02 academic year.

Copyright © 2003-2018 DEDCMDASFAA & ATAC Corporation
Copying or distributing contents forbidden.