Award Recipients
return to section index

Service Award Recipients
In 1978, the Executive Board created the Service Award to recognize the achievements of members whose active participation on committees or other organization activities had contributed to the betterment of the association. An Executive Board member or a Committee Chairperson makes nominations for the Service Award. This recipient has served the association in one or more of the following ways: (1) increasing membership participation, (2) enhancing the image of the associatin in the wider community, (3) promoting professional development of the membership.
1978-79 Clarence Hicks
1979-80 No Award Given
1980-81 Diane Wilson
1981-82 No Award Given
1982-83 John Cantalupo
1983-84 Carl Emerick
1984-85 Roscoe Dann Jr.
1985-86 Richard Hanson
1986-87 Joni Som de Cerff
1987-88 Lou Vangieri
1988-89 Vince Pecora
1989-90 No Award Given
1990-91 William Phelps
1991-92 Terra Jones
1992-93 No Award Given
1993-94 Lynn Lee
1994-95 Vince Pecora
1995-96 Marilyn Ambrose
1995-96 Jerome Lovick
1996-97 Janet Walker
1997-98 No Award Given
1998-99 Sharon Austin Hassan
1999-00 Cissy VanSickle
2000-01 No Award Given
2001-02 Richard Gallagher
2002-03 Margaret Bowler
2003-04 Ellie Geiman
2004-05 Patricia Rhodes
2005-06 No Award Given
2006-07 Andrea Cipolla
2007-08 David Manning and Melissa Rakes
2008-09 Christine Lodge
2009-10 Pat Shoemaker
2010-11 Dawn Mosisa
2011-12 No Award Given
2012-13 Kerri Mosely-Hobbs
2013-14 Beth McSweeney
2014-15 Aristea Williams
2015-16 Meanie Mason

Special Awards
1985-86 Phyllis Chernault
Frank Williar
1991-92 Dallas Martin
1996-97 Jacqueline Daughtry
1998-99 Greg Martin
2002-03 Larry Zaglaniczny

Lifetime Membership
The Lifetime Membership award honors a longtime active member of the association for extraordinary service. Any association member may submit a nomination to the Awards Committee. After review, the Awards Committee submits the nomination to the Executive Board for approval. The winner of this award receives a plaque and lifetime membership to the association.

H. Palmer Hopkins
Roscoe Dann, Jr.
Dick Tombaugh
William Phelps
Herm Davis
Phyllis Chernault
Cissy VanSickle
Margaret Bowler (2008-09)
Jacqueline Daughtry-Miller (2009-10)
David Manning (2010-11)
Margaret Bowler (2011-12)
Barbara Williams (2012-13) American Law (Retired)
Ellie Geiman (2013-14) McDaniel (Retired)

Marylin Brown Professional Excellence Award
The DE-DC-MD ASFAA Executive Board created the Marilyn Brown Professional Excellence Award in 1990 to honor the memory and life work of a dedicated financial aid administrator. Over a twenty-year career, Marilyn Brown could maintain equilibrium between the constant challenges of her profession and the needs of her students. Because of her expertise, students who would have fallen out of the system received financial aid that enabled them to complete their education. The recipients of this award demonstrate these qualities of professionalism and sensitivity. Recipients must show an exceptional contribution to students, school or the association; show professional ethics of the highest caliber; and with at least five years in the financial aid profession, show dedication to serving students in adverse situations. In the spirit of rewarding unrecognized excellence, the recipient need not be a member of the association.
1990-91 Rosa Bailey
1991-92 Sue Walker
1992-93 Richard Hanson
1993-94 Dennis Kemp
1994-95 Veronica Pickett
1995-96 Albertha Mellerson
1996-97 Cindy Cole
1997-98 Phyllis Chernault
1998-99 No Award Given
1999-2000 Kathy Wallace
2000-2001 Ruth Kunselman
2001-2002 Barbara Smith
2003-2003 Elaine Sweeney
2003-2004 John Butler
2004-2005 Homa Arabshahi
2005-2006 No Award Given
2006-2007 Richard Heath
2007-2008 Jaqueline Cymek
2008-2009 Amy Spinnato
2009-2010 Margaret Vale
2010-2011 No Award Given
2011-2012 Deborah Yonker
2012-2013 Sue Koch
2013-2014 Carrie Ford
2014-2015 Peter Malinowski

Volunteer of the Year
Volunteer of the Year nominated by the Membership Committee and the Executive Board. 2002 first year of award.
2001-2002 David Manning
2002-2003 Ingrid Valentine
2003-2004 Sharon Hassan
2004-2005 Kenneth Robinson
2005-2006 Melissa Rakes
2006-2007 Angie Hovatter
2007-2008 Dawn Mosisa
2008-2009 Beth McSweeney
Pat Shoemaker
2009-2010 Danielle Ballantyne
2010-2011 Michael Poma
2011-2012 Pat Shoemaker
2012-2013 Vicki A. Smith
2013-2014 Debra Ensor
2014-2015 Andrew Harvey
2016-2017 Tisa Silver Canady

New Member of the Year
New Member of the Year nominated by Professional Development and Training Committee and Executive Board. 2002 first year of award.
2001-2002 Pat Shoemaker
2002-2003 Taisha Winters
2003-2004 Zhanna Golster
2004-2005 Kimberley Strickler
2005-2006 Hie Ju Seung
2006-2007 Dana Baumgartner
2007-2008 Donald Jones
2008-2009 Heather Owens
2009-2010 Alice Farnham
2010-2011 Sherrod Wilkerson
2011-2012 Brandon Hall
2012-2013 Elizabeth Chandler
2013-2014 none
2014-2015 Jennifer Sandler
2015-2016 James Royce

Committee of the Year
Selected by the Chair, Past-Chair and Chair-elect. 2001 first year of award.
2000-2001 Professional Development and Training
Rachel Brinkley, Co-Chair
Bridget Watson, Co-Chair
2001-2002 Development Committee
Susan Stitely, Chair
2002-2003 Federal Relations Committee
Holly Zalganiczny, Co-Chair
Sharon Clough, Co-Chair
2003-2004 Electronic Services and Technology
Patricia Rhodes, Chair
2004-2005 Professional Development and Training
Lynn Lee, Co-Chair
Melvina Johnson, Co-Chair
2005-2006 Historical Committee
Jacqueline Daughtry-Miller, Chair
2006-2007 Awards and Scholarships Committee
Vicki Smith, Chair
2007-2008 Federal Relations Committee
Dawn Mosisa, Co-Chair
Angie Hovatter, Co-Chair
2008-2009 Conference Committee
  Melissa Rakes, Chair
Professional Development and Training
  Aristea Williams, Co-Chair
  Andrea Cipolla, Co-Chair
MD State Committee
  Nasim Keshavarz, Chair
2009-2010 Federal Relations Committee
Dawn Mosisa, Co-Chair
Virginia Zawodny, Co-Chair
2010-2011 Conference Committee
Nasim Keshavarz
2011-2012 Professional Development and Training
Dawn Shockley, Co-Chair
Vianela Fernandez, Co-Chair
2012-2013 Federal Relations Committee
Dawn Mosisa, Co-Chair
Aristea Williams, Co-Chair
2013-2014 Conference Committee
Angie Hovatter, Chair
2014-2015 Electronic Services
Tisa Silver, Chair
2015-2016 Maryland State Committee
Sarah Mariner, Chair

Copyright © 2003-2018 DEDCMDASFAA & ATAC Corporation
Copying or distributing contents forbidden.